Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Beads, Boys and Bangles by Sophia Bennett

Crow is in designer heaven;
Nonie's caught the eye of a gorgeous boy;
Jenny's rehearsing a new play.

But this time Edie's in trouble...
The rumours are that slave children in India
have been making Crow's new 
high-street collection.

How far do the girls have to
go to save their dreams?

I was so happy to find this in my Santa Sack on Christmas morning, because I've wanted this book for ages (well, 2 months, but still!). It's the follow-up to Threads which is my favourite book not-in-a-series ever!  So you can probably imagine my excitement when I opened it!

Beads, Boys and Bangles is again narrated by the eccentric, fashion-mad , 15-year-old Nonie. Nonie likes to stand out from the crowd and gets most of her clothes in charity shops, or else she makes them herself. She's that girl! Nonie is probably my favourite character. She's witty, hilarious and makes a great narrator. Or maybe Nonie's older brother Harry.(is my favourite character). He's just like his sister and he certainly knows how to annoy her. I really hated Alexander, Nonie's supposed-to-be boyfriend. I can't say much more about him, or else I'll spoil it, but take it from me. He's just...grrrr!

Around the middle of the book, Miss Teen, the fashion label Crow works for, sends the girls on a trip to.....India!!! The girls are super excited, because, not only only do they get to see how the clothes are made, they get to go...shopping! Mumbai is a brilliant place for shopping so Nonie is in heaven and Crow loves it too, because Mumbai has amazing fabrics Crow would love to work with. But then they find something appalling is going on, and when they get back to England, set out to fix it...

This book really is super. I wouldn't say it's as good as the first one (but then, that's a lot to live up too), but it still is brilliant. It gets 5/5, because I was gripped the whole way through, since there was one or two supporting storylines, so you never get bored! So, all in all, it was great. I definitely recommend you read it, and the first book , Threads. 

By the way everyone, I won't be posting for a week or so because I'll be at my Granny's and she doesn't have a computer*sob* Oh well.*sigh* But, at least that means I'll be posting extra reviews when I get back*yay!* Bye!!!!!!!

Monday, December 27, 2010

Knife Edge by Malorie Blackman

Sephy is a Cross, one of the privileged in a society where the ruling Crosses treat the pale-skinned noughts as inferiors. But her baby daughter has a nought father...

Jude is a nought. Eaten up with bitterness, he blames Sephy for the terrible losses his family has suffered...

Now Jude's life rests on a knife edge. Will Sephy be forced, once again to take sides?

A razor-sharp and intensely moving novel, the second in the Noughts and Crosses trilogy.

WARNING: Spoilers alert. Don't read this review if you haven't read the first book.

I was so excited, and eager to begin reading this book when my mum brought it home from the library. If you have read my review of Noughts and Crosses, you will know how much I loved it, and so obviously I wanted to read this one. Who doesn't love a good sequel?! And it certainly didn't disappoint! Knife Edge had some wonderful new characters, and plot twists all the way through, so it kept me on the edge of my seat, hungry for more.

I found that this book explored the characters personalities more, whereas the first book concentrated more on the background of the characters, so that was interesting. I felt that we, as readers, got to know the characters better. On the subject of characters, I have to say, even though he has done some unforgivable things, I felt sorry for Jude the whole way through the book. He is filled with rage and hatred towards Sephy, because he blames her for his families,especially Callums death. He doesn't know where he's at, and what he wants from life, he is just focused on getting revenge on Sephy, which is an awful way to have to live your life.

I think anyone considering reading this book should read Noughts and Crosses before doing so as it contains information that you need to know to understand what's going on. And I would definitely advise you to read them, ASAP! This book gets a rating of 6/5! Thank you so much Malorie Blackman, for writing these books!OK, bye!!!

Age Group: 12+
Official Publication Date: 30 June 2005
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
Author Website:www.malorieblackman.co.uk

Christmas Books

Hey everyone! Did you all have a good Christmas and get lots of books? Great! So did I! Here are the books I got:                                              
Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy  
by Ally Carter

Beads, Boys and Bangles
by Sophia Bennett

Gleeful! A Totally Unofficial Guide To The
Hit TV Series Glee by Amy Rickman

This next one arrived in the post Christmas Eve Day, and even though I ordered it, I'm still counting it as a present!
Castle of Shadows 
by Ellen Renner

So, I hope everybody had an awesome Christmas (I know I did!) Bye!!!

P.S. I got a bike!!!!!Yay! I know-not very book related! Oh well. Bye!!!(again)

Friday, December 24, 2010

Merry Christmas
Have a good Christmas everybody! I hope you all get lots of pressies!xxxxx

Thursday, December 23, 2010

The Longest Whale Song by Jacqueline Wilson

Dear Mum,
Oh dear, I know you can't read this but I still need to write to you.There's so much I want yo tell you. I've been doing a special project about whales. Did you know that humpback whales can sing? Isn't it amazing to think of all those whales down there in the depth of the ocean, singing? Usually the songs are quite short - but on whale was recorded singing non - stop for TWENTY-TWO HOURS! I'd sing for even longer if it would only make you wake up. I'm going to play you some beautiful whale songs when I visit you in hospital. You'll listen, won't you?
Lots and lots and lots of love,
Ella xxxxxxxx

Summary from www.jacquelinewilson.co.uk

Ella’s mum’s in a deep coma having just had a new baby. That means Ella has to live with Jack, her hopeless stepfather and cope with her tiny newborn brother, as well as worrying about Mum.
The only thing that’s going right is her school project. It’s all about whales and how they sing out to each other to attract a mate – sometimes for hours. Maybe a whale song could reach Mum, wherever she is, and bring her back to Ella and baby Samson.
Surely it’s worth a try?

I'm just going to start by saying this: I LOVED THIS BOOK!!! It was so brilliant! In my opinion it was definitely Jacquelines best book ever. When I saw it I didn't think it would be very good - I thought the storyline sounded a bit strange, but I'm so happy I did! I really liked the whale parts. I learned quite a lot about them from this book, actually! 
My favourite character was probably..... Jack, Ella's step dad. I felt sorry for him, cope with his wife being in a coma, at the same time as taking care of Ella and Samson and working. I didn't like Ella's so-called best friend Sally, because she wasn't there for Ella when she needed her most, and then she went off with another girl in their class, Dory, and practically left Ella all alone. I felt especially sorry for her at those parts.
My rating of this book is definitely 5/5.. I love all of Jacqueline Wilsons books, but this is by far my favourite one. Great, great, great job Jacqueline!

Official Publication Date: 30th September 2010  
Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Ten books I want to read

Here are ten books I really want to read soon!                                          

Knife Edge by Malorie Blackman
This book is the second in a series the first being Noughts 
and Crosses which is brilliant! So I can't wait to read this one!

Entangled by Cat Clarke 
I've seen loads of reviews of this on tons of 
blogs lately and it looks super! But it's not out
until 2011 : (

Beads, Boys and Bangles by Sophia Bennett
Another sequel! This one is a sequel to Threads, my 
favourite book ever! Luckily I'm getting it for Christmas : )

A Year Without Autumn by Liz Kessler
I've never read any of this authors book before, 
but it sounds amazing, so hopefully it will be good.

Conspiracy 365: January by Gabrielle Lord
This is part of a 12 book series, one for each 
month of the year. Sounds interesting, hmm?

When I Was Joe by Keren David
I don't really like the cover, it looks a bit 
depressing, but the storyline sounds great.

Clarity by Kim Harrington
Harringtons debut novel, it's looks really good
I love the cover!

Swapped by a Kiss by Luisa Plaja
The sequel to the HILARIOUS Split by a Kiss,
thanks Luisa!

Castle of Shadows by Ellen Renner
This is arriving in the post soon, I can't WAIT!!!

 Tall Story by Candy Gourlay
This looks really sweet! (haha - pun not intended!)

So there they are. The top ten books I wnat to read in or before 2011.
I hope you enjoy them too!

Sunday, December 19, 2010

Shine On, Daizy Star by Cathy Cassidy

Meet the one and only Daizy Star!
She's quirky and cool and loving life in Year Six with her best friends Willow and Beth.But when Dad hatches a mad plan that will turn life upside down, Daizy is too horrified to tell anyone at all... and pretty soon she finds herself tangled up in a knot of secrets.Will Daizy realize that even when she's sinking, her family and friends are there to help her swim?

Daizy Star has just started a new school term with her three best friends, Willow, Beth and Murphy. She has a wonderful teacher, Miss Moon, and is loving Year Six. But then her Dad comes up with a crazy plan, one that will change Daizy's life forever. Or will it?

OK, I know this book is meant for younger readers, but so what? I have read a few of Cathy's books before and they were quite good, so I decided to give this one a try.  I really enjoyed it! It only took me a few hours to read it though!

My favourite character is Daizy. She's just so cool and fun. I know you're not meant to favour the main character, but I wasn't mad on any of the other ones. Well, I liked Pixie, Daizy's six-going-on seven year old sister. She sounds so cute! She wants to be a mermaid when she grows up! Awwwww! I love how little kids say that, like, I want to be a mermaid or a princess or whatever.

I would probably recommend this book for younger readers, around 8 or 9 year olds. Although it makes a nice short read for older readers too. It would be a great story to read to your little sister, as it's really funny!

I'm going to give this book 5/5, because I didn't find anything wrong with it, at all. I'll definitely read and review Daizy Star and the Pink Guitar, the sequel. Good job Cathy!

Age Group: 8
Official Publication Date:4th June 2009
Publisher:Penguin Books Ltd.
Author Website:www.cathycassidy.com

Saturday, December 11, 2010

Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman

Callum is a nought - a second-class citizen in world run by the ruling Crosses...

Sephy is a Cross, daughter of one of the most powerful men in the country...

In their world, noughts and Crosses simply don't mix. And as hostility turns to violence, can Callum and Sephy possibly find a way to be together?They are determined to try.

And then the bomb explodes...

Callum is white - a nought. Sephy is black - a Cross. They have been friends since they were very young. Callums mum used to work for Sephys, until they had an argument and she was sacked. Since then, neither families have wanted them to be friends, so they have to go behind their parents back to be with each other. The story follows Callum and Sephy as they grow older, and the difficulties they run into while trying to live in a world where black and white are right and wrong. A touching, emotional story, that teaches young people how wrong racism is.

This book is amazing! Malorie Blackman manages to give a whole new twist to the racism storyline, and makes it wonderful and brilliantly unique. My favourite character is Sephy. I love how innocent she is, always trying to please everyone. Although that does sometimes get her into difficult situations. Towards the end of the book, not giving anything away, Sephy is a lot more mature. This book has it's fair share of sad and happy  moments, and a lot of unexpected twists. It kept me on the edge of my seat, and I can't wait to read the sequel.

I will definitely give this book 5/5 and would definitely read it again, but maybe not too soon, as I was quite sad after reading it. I found no faults at all with this book and would recommend it to everyone! Definitely read this book people! 
OK, well bye!!!

Age Group: 12+
Official Publication Date: 15th January 2001
Publisher:2001 Doubleday,2002 Corgi Publishing
Author Website:www.malorieblackman.co.uk

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Boys Don't Cry by Malorie Blackman

You're waiting for the postman - he's bringing your exam results. University, a career as a journalist... a glittering future lies ahead. But when the doorbell rings, it's your old girlfriend; and she's carrying a baby... your baby.

She's had enough and now it's your turn.

What would you do?

From the author of the bestselling Noughts and Crosses sequence comes a dramatic and controversial novel, one that will take you on a journey from tears to laughter and back again.

17-year-old Dante lives with his father and younger brother Adam. Dante has finished his A-levels and is waiting for the results. He wants to go to university and become a journalist, when his old girlfriend Melanie, who he hasn't seen in nearly two years turns up with a baby. Dante's baby. She leaves the baby, a girl called Emma, with him after telling him she can't cope anymore. From there, the story begins. Dantes life takes a turn for the worst. Or maybe not. Dante doesn't know what to do. Will Melanie ever come back?Will he put Emma into care? And what disturbs Dante the most, is that he feels nothing for Emma. Nothing at all. Read all about what Dante chooses to do in this touching novel of family, love and freedom.

I saw a review of this book on The Mile Long Bookshelf and I thought it looked really good, so I went out and bought it. And I'm  glad I did too! This novel is superb. It has a wonderfully unique storyline, great characters and it's written very well. My favourite character is Adam, Dantes brother. I liked him because he isn't ashamed of who he is, and I think he's a great role model for teenagers. This novel is quite sad though, and I'm not very good with sad, real life novels, so I didn't enjoy the sad parts as much as I did the rest of the book (well, I suppose that's kind of obvious!).But apart from that I found absolutely
nothing wrong with this book! In fact I liked it so much, I'm now reading another of Malorie Blackmans books, Noughts and Crosses,  and there will be a review of that up soon.

I would give this book 4/5 because I enjoyed reading it (apart from the sad bits) and like I said it was written very well, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes touching, real life fiction(does that make sense? Real life fiction?Hmm....). 

Official Publication Date: 28th October 2010
Publisher: Doubleday

Monday, December 6, 2010

British Books Challenge 2011 (I signed up!)

Yay! Woohoo! Yes, that's right, I have signed up for the British Book Challenge! This challenge is being hosted by Becky over at The Bookette. This is the first challenge I have ever done so I hope I can do it properly.

The BBC (haha!) is when you have to read at least 6 books by a British author and review them on your blog throughout 2011. You can find more out on the website. I don't know exactly what books I'll do yet but I think I might read

  • Split By a Kiss by Luisa Plaja
  • Beads, Boys and Bangles by Sophia Bennett
  • Sequins, Stars and Spotlights by Sophia Bennett
That's obviously not all the books I'm going to be reviewing(cause that wouldn't be enough) but that's some of them anyway. Well, that's all for today. Cliona, out!( I know-cheesy!)

Sunday, December 5, 2010

British Books Challenge 2011

The British Books Challenge is a challenge being hosted by Becky at The Bookette. I don't know if I'll take part or not. Maybe. If I am doing it I will post more details about it soon. Please comment on what you think. Thanks!

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

I'd Tell You I Love You But Then I'd Have To Kill You by Ally Carter

''Do you ever feel like you're invisible? I know I do-just call me Cammie the Chameleon. But at my         school, that's seen as cool. Why? Because the Gallagher Academy might say it's for geniuses, but it's really school for spies.''
Cammie Morgan might be capable of killing a man in seven different ways, but she's about to begin her most dangerous mission yet: falling in love. 

Cammie Morgan is a genius and she goes to spy school. Her mother, the headmistress, is a former spy and so is her father, who is dead. Cammie's best friends are super-smart Liz and super-cool Bex. The girls are in their sophomore year (I think that's how you say it?????) and have started Covert Operations, which is spy field work. When the school gets a new CovOps teacher, the gorgeous Joe Solomon, all the sophomores are excited. But then they realise that Mr. Solomon means business. He's a former spy and really knows his stuff. When he gives the three girls a test mission in the nearby town, Cammie meets Josh, a local boy. Josh thinks the Gallagher Girls are all posh, snobby rich girls, so Cammie lies to him and tells him she is home schooled. As Cammie continuously sneaks into town to meet Josh her lies develop and Cammie begins to feel more and more guilty. 

When I first saw the cover of this book I thought it looked really good. I borrowed it off a friend and she told me she didn't really like it, but I decided to try it anyway. I have to say I didn't think it was great. It was written well and it was quite funny but I thought it was a bit boring. I didn't think enough really happened in it.  I think more should have happened with Josh and Cammie but whenever those parts were happening, I felt like skipping them. I would give this book 3.5/5. I probably won't be reading the sequel to it, Cross My Heart and Hope To Spy. So, all in all, I didn't think it was great. 

Please follow this blog and leave comments! Thanks! Cliona.

Wednesday, November 24, 2010


Hey guys! Just to let you know a review of  I'd Tell You I Love You But Then I'd Have To Kill You will hopefully be up soon if I can get more followers. Please follow guys! Thanks! Cliona

Sunday, November 21, 2010

Ask Amy Green Bridesmaid Blitz

             Ask Amy Green 
             Any problem solved!

Agony aunts extraordinaire Amy and Clover need to find the perfect bridesmaid' dresses. And what better place to start than Paris,the fashion capital of the world! They are on the plane quicker than you can say va-va-voom. Hold on to your beret - here come the girls. Ooh-la-la!

This book is about 13-year-old Amy Green, who lives in Dublin, Ireland. Her parents are divorced and she lives with her mum Sylvie, her mums boyfriend Dave, her half-sister Alex and half-sister Evie. Her dad also lives in Dublin with his pregnant wive Shelly. Sylvie has just one sister, 17-year-old Clover. Clover is the agony aunt for The Goss, a teen magazine. This book is all about how the three girls are preparing for Sylvie's wedding to Dave and is the third book in the Ask Amy Green series.

As I said, Bridesmaid Blitz is the third book in the AAG series. I think you probably should read the first two books before this one, as you'll find it easier to understand what's going on, but it's not absolutely necessary that you do. Although this book was quite good, I think the first two were better. Also, I was a little disappointed that the wedding didn't take place in this book. I thought the author didn't really cover a sufficient amount of time. But apart from that the book was great.

My favourite character was definitely Clover, Amy's cool but crazy aunt. I loved how she had a solution for everything, even if those solutions didn't always work!

Out of 5 I would definitely give this book 4. I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait until Sarah's  next book comes out in Spring 2011. Good job Sarah! 

This is my first official review. I hope you like it. Thanks for reading! Until next time, Cliona.